Towing boat behind houseboat question

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrDeeds970

Hi everyone! I have a question about towing our new Ranger behind the houseboat. I am new to houseboating and confused about what type of rope I need to purchase to haul the boat. Is there a specific kind most houseboaters use to pull a heavy boat? Thanks in advance!

We use 50'-75' of at least 1/2" Double Braided line to tow our speed boats with a heavy duty hook at the end to latch onto the boat. We'd advice against tiring the rope to the boat at the bow. Denver Rope is a good source of information for selecting the right rope and hardware, plus they will customize color for you

We regularly a 21' Ranger and a 21' Stratos

Last edited:
I use a 4,000 lb rated tow rope that is used for pulling tubes (it's the heaviest one I could find). I use a caribiner to attach it to the eyebolt of my little boat then tie it to the starboard rear clete on the houseboat. It's easier for me to watch from the helm that way.

It's a floating rope so it won't sink and get caught in the props of the houseboat.

Take the slack out until the line is taut then proceed. The boat weighs more than 4,000 lbs but at towing speeds of 10 mph +/- there isn't that much strain on the line.

While a $100 or $200 investment in a good tow rope sounds expensive, it's pretty cheap when you consider the boat you're pulling costs $50K -$100k. Fixing damage if that boat comes loose and its bashing into a canyon wall before you find it, isn't cheap either

Doesn't happen often, but I've seen jet skis and boats floating all by themselves mid channel

Last edited:
Another comment......If your bow eye is low on the bow, it may cause your towed boat to be too "bow high". Our old Maxum was this way, so we built another "Y Harness" and ran it to the two forward bow cleats and towed from there. Made the boat tow with a lower bow and less drag. We also tilt our drive up for towing.