Slab Spoons for catching Stripers

Status
Not open for further replies.

wayne gustaveson

Staff member
I got a request recently asking if we could sell any of the jigging spoons that Nob Wimmer makes and uses to catch trophy stripers. We don't have the time or energy to do that. It would be a great project for a young entrepreneur. Dave Wallace produced the Wally Lure before he passed. That is the lure I have used for years to catch stripers. After he was gone someone took over his company but I am not sure what happened. I have no knowledge of that company still being in operation. If you do let me know. Those were great spoons and the same one that we still make. This is the same lure and mold used by Howard Oatman before he passed.

If you want to sell spoons or make your own here are the details. Get a slab spoon mold from Janns Netcraft. Part Number: P 411-188 Model CC-2-L, (Number of cavities) 2, Hook size 2 or 4, make sure to buy the insert which allows the hook and line attachment. This mold is for 1.5 and 2 ounce spoons. We use 1.5 ounce.

You need a lead melting pot and then pour hot lead into the mold to make the spoons. (Remember: Lead is not good for you).

When the blank spoons are dry and cool then you have to paint or attach your favorite decorations. Here is what some look like.

Then we attach extra heavy hooks and split rings (heavier than the ones pictured here).

I prefer the size 2 extremely heavy duty hooks and (I am never sure on the size of split rings - my guess is 2 or 3).

So here are the details for those looking for adventure. Good Luck!4085
This is the old Wally Lure

Here is Nobs spoon used to catch the 30 and 20 pound stripers. Note the heavy duty split rings and hooks

Last edited:
Thanks for the mold information. I have a lead melt pot already may have to look into getting a mold for my use.