The 60 day or less rule applys ONLY to your requirement to REGISTER your boat in Utah. If you use the boat 60 days or less in Utah, you do NOT have to register it in Utah. If you use it 61 days or more in Utah, then you will be required to also REGISTER it in Utah. There is no connection here to the new AIS program beginning July 1, 2020 as per HB255. Also, owning a home in Utah doesn't make you a resident of Utah unless you claim it as your primary residence. I don't believe it is legal to be a resident of more than one state at any given time, so choose wisely. If you operate your Arizona registered boat for ANY length of time in Utah, you WILL be required to pay the fee and take the course regardless of your feelings to the contrary. You are trying to read something into the Utah statutes that just isn't there. Good luck on getting away with it.We love our yearly Lake Powell boating trip and have done everything we could to prevent/delay it’s contamination with Aquatic Invasive Species (aptly referred to as an STD). Being from Arizona, storing our boat in Arizona, launching in Arizona I supported the initial decontamination efforts and have tolerated the Utah inspections the last few years at the top of the ramp. I hope Utah can keep it’s lakes clean of AIS and will do what I can to assist, short of paying the fee and taking the course. We own a second home in Utah and pay plenty of taxes to Utah. We end up in Utah waters for most of our time on Lake Powell. To clarify my responsibility for being on Utah waters this July I have read the statute HB255 in its entirety and the referenced 73-18-7 (and 73-18-9). It seems pretty straightforward to me, after reading the actual language, that non-Utah residents who have their boat registered properly in Arizona (probably most states) are exempt from having to pay the fee or take the course unless their boat is physically in Utah for more than 60 days a year. I will continue to cooperate with other efforts to contain and limit the spread of AIS.
You've been reading or hearing some urban myths. Paid taxes have absolutely NO bearing on the requirement for non-residents of Utah to pay the fee and take the course to operate certain watercraft on Utah water. That certainly isn't in the language of HB255 and isn't in any other statute that I'm aware of. What's going to be fun is watching the few folks that don't believe this new Utah law applies to them trying to convince Utah law enforcement officials that it doesn't apply to them and maybe telling the official to go pound sand. I hope you have a good lawyer on retainer.I live in Colorado and am facing the same situation. I know there will be people trying to collect the fee and I also read that unless you are subject to taxes on your boat you are not subject to the fee. I doubt seriously that someone collecting the fees is going to know and agree with that. I think they will do whatever they can to collect the fee or keep us off the water
And before any of you jump my case about all this, I'm just trying to give you some facts to keep you out of trouble. Obey the new law; don't obey the new law. I don't care one way or the other. You and your lawyer can work out the details with the Utah legal system if you choose to ignore the new law or think it doesn't apply to you. Y'all have fun now; ya hear?