Suggestions for where to Kayak fish for crappie on Northern Lake Powell

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave Clifton

I am new to Utah and would like to do a spring kayak fishing trip to target crappie preferably on the northern end of the lake. Ideally I'd like to park my 20' self contained camper near the water with a decent area to fish with in a mile or two to avoid having to paddle forever to find some slabs. if anyone could give advice on a general area it would be greatly appreciated.TIA!

I don't target crappie, but when I have caught them, they have been in the canyons between Bullfrog and Good Hope. Which won't be accessible to your method.

Lake access is tough if you don't have a boat. For what you are requesting (camping close to the water) you are limited to Stanton or Hite. Maybe Blue Notch.

I don't target crappie, but when I have caught them, they have been in the canyons between Bullfrog and Good Hope. Which won't be accessible to your method.

Lake access is tough if you don't have a boat. For what you are requesting (camping close to the water) you are limited to Stanton or Hite. Maybe Blue Notch.
Thanks for your comment!

I second Dungees suggestion. Unfortunately getting a camper near the water(within 100-200 yards), is extremely difficult at Farley Canyon at these water levels. We normally camp in the flat below the bathrooms, and drive over the hill to the water each day. At current water levels(and down to around 3605 ft) we launch our 17ft trailered Aluminum StarCraft at the end of the road(when someone's not camping in the middle of the turn-around). Fishing for crappie in Farley is a bit hit or miss, but White Canyon(the next canyon South), is far superior and a pretty easy trip in a kayak.