Moving houseboat

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was wondering what I have to do and what it costs to be able to move our boat out of the park and maybe out of state. Decon ect ect. Not trucking costs

I have no knowledge on the subject, but am interested to hear what you find out.

any of the transport companies can let you know what paperwork you need to move a boat, back in 2010 moving a boat from lake Powell to California it had to have a visual inspection for muscles besides all the normal transport paperwork. I do not know at this time if that has changed, but do know if your heading through port of entry's in Utah and Colorado you will be stopped and inspected.

The decon will likely be scraping, powerwashing, and drying any places that could hold water then waiting 30 days this time of year unless you can prove you got a good enough freeze to take care of the mussels through enough nights of freezing. A good freeze will eliminate the 30-day wait but won't eliminate the need for the scraping and powerwashing.

The cost of the scraping and powerwashing will, of course, depend on the level of infestation. If it gives you a starting point, Offshore charged me about $300 for this year and about the same last year for our annual powerwash and mussel removal for our 65' X 18' pontoon boat.

When we moved our boat from Mohave to Powell it was $650 for the mussel removal and $2600 for the trucking if I remember correctly. Game and Fish had to inspect the boat prior to moving. I was told it would be worse if we crossed state lines