Knots

Status
Not open for further replies.
The more I try to use braid with a flouro leader the more I keep just going back to straight mono.

Lately breaks. On the last trip in novemeber I broke two knots on setting the hook. I used the modified Albright knot. I could put more time and effort into the whole process but I just end up going back to mono for ease. Im a novice tho with that set up so I love learning more about it.

TR what set up do you use? Lines? Knots? And others? What are the best set ups? Last trip I was using spider wire with stren flouro, had break issues, other trips I've used power pro and had loop issues with the power pro.

I use the modified Albright for saltwater, it pretty much never fails. Nicks in the braid and leader will break before the knot when it is seated right, and its not hard to tie the knot correctly with a little practice. its actually a very fast and easy knot. I think the most breaks are from line rubbing on rocks at LP. Best to check the line often for nicks....cant say I always do that when the action is hot!
But I do not think you need braid at lake powell. Unless you are spooning, where you want lure to sink fast and have more sensitivity than you get with mono, the issues with how much harder snarls are to work out are not worth the extra line strength. Just my .02.....

Saltwater I use a double Bimini for backing to line, modified Albright or loop knot for leader, Bimini for class Tippett, double surgeons for bite Tippett....or something to that effect. Powell I just run straight leader and a loop knot for terminal. Spin is kinda new and I have only done it at Powell. I have braid and use a modified Albright for flouro section. If I need to redo something quickly I tend to tie a triple surgeons, knowing that if it breaks it will break there. I really wet knots down to tighten. TR