Houseboat Inverter/Charger settings question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frostman

The inverter/charger on our Sumerset houseboat at Bullfrog Marina is bubbling the lead acid golf cart battery bank electrolyte out through the vent caps and or seams between the battery top and reservoir. We seem to lose about a gallon a month in total in the 8 golf cart battery bank, which seems excessive in the Float charge stage.

This is my first year on the houseboat and am gradually coming up to speed on all of its systems. There is little info on board about the settings that should be in use. I suspect that part of the problem is the batteries are 3 years old and may have some dead cell issues as well.

I searched the issue on the internet in a variety of ways and really haven't found a discussion that parallels our situation. I finally came upon a houseboat forum and noticed another Wordling (Endurance) in its roster. Any guidance or suggestions on where the experts can be contacted would be greatly appreciated.

Frostman

Here's some good news: in many ways, the inverter industry is still a few small businesses where you can place a phone call and talk to an engineer. Often times, it will be the same engineer that designed the product you have.

As I understand it, most of the current inverter companies stem from a company called Trace Engineering in the Pacific Northwest. Xantrex came in and bought Trace which and made it more "corporate." Some of the engineers didn't like the new corporate environment so they met "out back" and started Outback Power. Others started Magnum Energy. Others had late night meetings that eventually grew into Midnite Solar.

Even Xantrex, the most corporate of the common inverter suppliers, has reasonably good customer support. Outback of even better. My favorite is Magnum. Midnite would be equally good with Magnum, but they aren't yet fully in the inverter market.