HELP: Rental Houseboat shore power connection

Status
Not open for further replies.

spirg

We've got a rental scheduled out of Wahweap next week on a 75' Excursion. Yes, I know, we are rolling the dice. Wish I would've known how bad it could be but here we are and we're going to give it hell and see what happens. Our expectations are about as low as they can be.

My understanding is you've got about a 75% chance of the generator taking a crap on you. So, to head this off, we're thinking of bringing a 5kw generator. I know it won't power the AC or run a lot but it should be able to keep the batteries charged and run a few things if needed. I have a lot of Lake Powell and RV experience and I am familiar with the RV 50 amp and 30 amp circuits.

My question is, is the houseboat shore power connection the same twist lock as modern 50A RV plugs? I'll bring my own 50a cable .

Thanks for your help. I'm just trying to minimize the inevitable let down that is in our future. Any other advice is greatly appreciated.

We've got a rental scheduled out of Wahweap next week on a 75' Excursion. Yes, I know, we are rolling the dice. Wish I would've known how bad it could be but here we are and we're going to give it hell and see what happens. Our expectations are about as low as they can be.

My understanding is you've got about a 75% chance of the generator taking a crap on you. So, to head this off, we're thinking of bringing a 5kw generator. I know it won't power the AC or run a lot but it should be able to keep the batteries charged and run a few things if needed. I have a lot of Lake Powell and RV experience and I am familiar with the RV 50 amp and 30 amp circuits.

My question is, is the houseboat shore power connection the same twist lock as modern 50A RV plugs? I'll bring my own 50a cable .

Thanks for your help. I'm just trying to minimize the inevitable let down that is in our future. Any other advice is greatly appreciated.