Help me spend my $$$

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ryan

Keeper of San Juan Secrets
Let me start by saying I am not a techie. I am certain that my current set up has features I don't know about. But I'm looking to add a sonar to the bow of my Lund. I currently have a Lowarance at the helm. Not sure if I care (or can) network the two.

I thought I wanted another Lowarance, but the Cabelas guy was showing my a Hummingbird that he said would likely integrate with my iPilot Terrova better.

So I am looking for advice on what to get. My budget is $1000 or under, and I want to buy at Cabelas since I have been banking points on my visa. I think I would like to use the transducer on the Minnkota (unless you convince me otherwise), and hook it to what I think is power already at the bow.

So, what is your advice?

Here is what I already have at the bow of the boat.

The back of my current sonar.

Current sonar at the helm.

One thing to consider, if you want to link with the hummingbird, you may have to upgrade your iPilot to the iPilot Link ($500 - $700).
I would recommend hooking up to the Minn Kota transducer, it is nice to see what's up ahead while trolling. If you network, you should be able to select between transducers.

I thought hooking up to my Minn Kota transducer on my Terrova was going to be the way to go....but do your research first. You will only be able to get 2d imaging and I wanted DI & SI capability on the front of my rig. It all depends on what you want. I run Hummingbird at both bow and console with iPilot.

I have the Elite TI 7 touchscreen. I like it, but have to say the DI, SI Chirp transducer is HUGE! It has not been an issue, but the thing is like a foot long and 3" wide. I really like the touchscreen feature, but have to admit I have barely used the DI and SI features. When I go out I always want to fish, not spend the time needed to use all the features on the new units!