Handling The Heat on The Lake

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bill Sampson

Escalante-Class Member
Some quick history, I came down with heat stroke in 1978 when I was a field electrician on a job in the San Fernando Valley area. I have been wearing SPF rated hats, sunscreen, and rash guards for many years to prevent this from happening again. At Lake mead a few weeks ago when I was out all day long in 115 degree temperatures I was affected by the sun again, although not a sun stroke. I would appreciate any feedback from wordlings about their secrets to handling heat on the lake. Bart. I am not sure this is the right place to put this inquiry, so feel free to move it. I feel this could be helpful to all.
Thanks in advance.

Frequent dips and finding shade. I also wear a giant ugly straw hat during summer trips. The heat of the day is easy to handle, its the sleeping at night without a fancy houseboat and AC that is our conundrum.

Last edited:
I agree with the other comments and would add that those new-fangled fabrics that many athletes use that you get wet and put over your head, face, neck or anywhere else you'd like really do work to lower your body temperature. The fabric actually gets cold and is good for 15 minutes or so, then to re-vitalize the fabric again and make it cold again, you just get it wet again, so easy to do while on LP. I bought mine at Lowes. Examples.

Columbia Brand
Actic Cool Brand

I don't own either of these, but the technology looks similar to what I have in a no-name brand. And it does work. It's really just the modern-day Kerchief that Rivergoer mentioned.

Goes without saying, but the easiest/best suggestion is just to stay wet, no matter what your clothes fabric is!

Last edited: