Escalante

Status
Not open for further replies.

Garry

Change of plans going to Escalante instead of GHB . I have never been there and any help would be greatly appreciated. Where to camp and start fishing if anyone has been there recently? My thought was to go back till stained water and look for a camp site . Going May 12 - 19.

Gary, I'm no expert on it, but from what I remember from the time I went into the Escalante arm, it was a pretty walled up area. No beaches or areas to really camp there that stuck in my mind. You might be better off looking at the google maps and staying closer to the Rincon? With the water this low maybe something above the waterline now. I'm sure someone with more experience will be able to point you to a good camp if there are any up that arm.

Gary, I'm no expert on it, but from what I remember from the time I went into the Escalante arm, it was a pretty walled up area. No beaches or areas to really camp there that stuck in my mind. You might be better off looking at the google maps and staying closer to the Rincon? With the water this low maybe something above the waterline now. I'm sure someone with more experience will be able to point you to a good camp if there are any up that arm.
That what I was afraid of but was hoping the low levels might brings some camping sites available.

That what I was afraid of but was hoping the low levels might brings some camping sites available.
There was some awesome looking camp spots just up around the corner from the mouth. We drove on past them going to the SJ last weekend.

At the mouth of the Escalante there is a beach on the right; additionally, around the restrooms across the channel there usually are some. Otherwise they are there but not a lot as you go up the canyon.