Decontamination Problem ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ty Gray

Went to the lake this morning for a little fishing and r&r and didn't make it past the decontamination area. My boat fired up like it always does and about 1:30 minutes into the process the engine died. I'm not a mechanic so just made sure things were tight and that gas was moving without any luck. Returned home and hooked it up to the garden hose and it fired right up and ran perfect. Family hopped in the truck and we returned to the lake, the same thing happened. Got home and it fired right up with the garden hose. Could the hot water at decontamination be the problem? Is there a sensor that kills the engine from the hot water? I have been on Powell four times this year and haven't had any trouble. The boat is a Tahoe Q7i with a Mercury 5.0. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I don't have an answer for you but I am curious why you had a hot water decontamination before launching? Especially 2 times in a row?

The guys at the station said it had to be at a certain temperature for a set amount of time. Both times the water got to the temperature and shut the boat down before the required amount of time. When I launched at this lake last year, we didn't have any problems. Another boat right after us had the same issue, but they were able to meet the amount of time barely. Then they were on the water running fine.

Sorry, I don't think I asked my question properly.

I thought you had to have a hot water decontamination AFTER boating in Lake Powell so you don't carry the mussels elsewhere.

I've never had to be decontaminated BEFORE launching - I just wondered why they're making you do that?

I leave out of Halls and I have only seen someone there one time. The one time I came out at Bullfrog, they told me Colorado wouldn't uphold Utahs decontamination so they did not decontaminate my boat from Bullfrog either.