AGM trolling batteries

Status
Not open for further replies.

capt-capsaicin

Anyone use AGM type batteries for trolling motor use? I am looking to replace my batteries and the boat shop told me to stay away from them. Seems like they have longer life so what's wrong with them?

Thanks,

Jason

They are great, but expensive
I have dekas,Hensleys in gj is dealer. do internet search . Them. What was boat shops reason?

I've been using them for over 20 years, first for the convenience of not having to check battery water levels, and second for the large reserve capacity. I use the group 31s and have 4 in my boat now. I'am on my second set on a 21' fishing boat that came with the standard lead acid type, which I replaced at 3 years. Mercury specs them for the big Verado engines, but I was using them for years before I got this boat. I need a lot of juice as I do mostly 3 day trips up the San Juan, and I can nurse three on a 36 volt troll motor to last for the complete trip. Down side is price, I use the Batteries Plus X2 31M, which has a free 4 year replacement and if you buy online and pick up at local store there's a 10% off coupon, which you'll need! I personally have had good luck with them and I have used Lifeline, Trojan and Sears Platinum Diehard brands. Ranger621