New to jet skis and have a question

Dave I.

Hey guys. I have a GTX 1100 d.i. jet ski and have a silly question that a family member asked that wants to borrow it.

Will a jet ski make it from Bullfrog to Dangling Rope on a single tank of gas or will extra gas need to be carried? I really don't know as I've only played in BF bay with it.

Dave I.

Every jet ski is different. The question should be - How big is the gas tank and how much fuel does it use??
This is true, I know that. It is an 1100 cc 2 stroke. Just wondering if others have made the trip on their skis and and did they make it on one tank or need more.

I would have to ultimately have to make that decision with my certain machine but hoping for some infinite wisdom/experiences this forum always seems to provide. ;)

Full speed, it would be an hour or so to get down there ASAP. My mind set says you should get more than an hour out of a tank, but being a mechanic, I don't always see eye-to-eye with the engineers thinkings. haha

Dave I.

Just one rider.

Bart, That is an AWESOME link. Thank you! Saving it! maybe be useful for any future customer questions.

I may send a 1 gallon can and 1 quart of oil, just in case. A lot cheaper than towing services from DR to BF. :)

But since I have never had it full throttle, 55 seems far fetched. I've had it to 36 but never been on glass with it either.

I might make a run before family does. Maybe just an excuse to play on the jet ski? haha........MAYBE!!!

nzaugg

We were able to make it from Bullfrog to Davis Gulch and about half way back, but it was in the 4-stroke version with a 15 gallon tank and was definitely not running full throttle. It would seem be an iffy proposition trying to get it to DR. Towing from Slickrock to Halls only to find Halls on winter hours 3 days after Labor Day was not fun either.

stevenk2