Fish finder recomendation

Can anyone point me to a reasonably priced fish finder? What are some features I should look for?

I'm a novice fisherman so I'd like something that is easy to use (ie I don't need all the bells and whistles) Another big factor would be for aiding in navigation and being able to see the bottom, trees, rocks etc while underway in the boat. I'd like something that would excel in this regard.

Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks

RandyAustinFishing

Depends on "reasonable". I have used them all probably the easiest to use IMO is Garmin. I run Humminbird. A lot depends on budget all have the basic traditional sonar, temp and other features all are very good nowadays. But for ease of use and value I would recommend Garmin echomap 73sv.

birdsnest

Thanks. I'd like to stay at 200 or under.
SAve your money for a while and get something better. I would get a humminbird that supports a lake master card and has lake level offset which shows you hazards that are present at any lake level. Side imaging is super as well. A Helix 5si is about 500-550. You could buy the lakemaster card later....125$. pricey stuff but you know the saying. Good luck

Last edited:

Bailer

It’s probably an anomaly, but my 6 month old humminbird mega 7 died an hour into our day Friday. The fishing was so good that I didn’t try to troubleshoot it on the water. Hopefully it’s just a fuse and not the head unit itself.

RandyAustinFishing

Yeah, I would agree with birdsnest, wait awhile save up and get a better unit. Look at used on FB or Ebay. People upgrade and sell used units for a lot less. Or black friday deals.

I'll check out the referb ones, thanks.

In reality, I doubt I ever use any kind of maps, charts etc so I won't need those features. I'm sure that will save some money. So with the exception of mapping, what features should I look for, dual beam, chirp, etc?

Thanks

Squirrel