August 24&25, Good Hope

Status
Not open for further replies.

Boudreaux

I was curious about how the fish would react to the 23 degree drop in air temperatures on Tuesday (70 degrees at 5PM, down from 103 earlier in the week according to Weather Underground), and encouraged by reports of striper boils in GHB at sunrise and sunset on Wayne’s wonderful site, so I decided to check it out myself with a quick overnight Friday into Saturday. Left Bullfrog at 4 PM, went straight to GHB and searched for boils and trolled in Popcorn and Ticaboo until 10 PM. Slept on the boat in a quiet cove In Ticaboo, under a full moon and high clouds . Tried again in AM from 0700 until it got windy at 0900, then threw soft baits at rocks and wall cracks until 3. The result: one little SMB trolling, 2 Red ear sunfish on white grubs. I tried trolling deep, trolling shallow, jigging, topwater, grubs, chasing blips in the graph, everything I knew how to do. I’m still learning this amazing lake, but this is as close as I’ve yet come to being skunked. “That’s why it’s called fishing, not catching.” I love everything about fishing and just want to know more. I saw no one at the fish cleaning station either day, and the mussel inspection guys said they hadn’t heard much from anyone. The reason I’m posting is to see if anyone else had any luck up North Friday or Saturday. At this point, I’m gonna blame full moon, weather changes, windy conditions and “Mercury in retrograde “. I hope someone did well, but I kinda hope it wasn’t just me having tough fishing. BTW, I still had a great trip, didn’t break anything.