2021 Weldcraft Angler XT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deep V

I live in Colorado and just got my new Weldcraft 20 Angler XT with 200 HP Suzuki and 15 HP Tohatsu kicker. Boat is 22' 10" long with reverse chine and a 1 piece extended bottom bracket. I plan on living and camping out of this boat. I have a battery operated fridge, 130 watt bugout solar panel and small toilet. I have a lot of rafting experience and plan to use that gear to make kind of a ghetto houseboat. Will this boat be able to handle rough waters at Lake Powell? Do you recommend sleeping on the boat or setting up on a beach? How many anchors should I have? How do I safely secure the boat on shore while camping? I have a complete cover with windows that zip out. I also plan on hitting Lake Mojave next week until it warms up enough for Powell. I really like the Aluminum hulls because they are so tough and can beach easily on sand or rocks without worries of scratching the bottom up. It also has a lifetime warranty on the hull to the original owner. I don't have any lake boating experience just rafting down rivers.
Your thoughts are appreciated.

Last edited:
That boat will handle Powell well, just be smart. Sleeping on the beach or the boat will be your preference, both are good options. Beach your boat, tie something on the front eye and one on both the back starboard and port cleats. You’ll be good.

I would much prefer sleeping on the boat, IF you can make a nice , soft nest. My old carcass does not appreciate hard surfaces, plus the more spread out you get, the more you have to watch out for, but the boat may not allow the room.