2 Stroke Oil

Status
Not open for further replies.

David Ray

To all you folks still running older Mercury outboards. Are you using mercury recommended Quicksilver or switched to other name brands like Lucas?
My outboard is a 1997 150hp.
Thanks

I have been buying cabellas 2 stroke oil when its on sale. No problems with it at all. They have had major improvements with motor oils the last 20 years or more. Its one reason cars etc. are going 300,000 miles now. When I was a kid a vehicle with 100,00 miles was trashed. Now they seem to run forever. I used to have an Evinrude 2 stroke and would only run Evinrude oil. Before that it was a Johnson. Now Im not afraid of any of the oils.

Yes oils have come a long ways in 20 years... while I do not have a two stroke power plant on my boat, I run Amsoil in all my engines, boat, dirt bikes, trucks, etc...

I have a 2003 Mercury 90 (carbureted, oil injected). I have been using the Cabelas semi-synthetic oil for more than 10 years, never had any issues, still running strong! I run the gas out after every use, this engine has only needed new plugs, changed lower unit oil and a new impeller every few years with absolutely no other maintenance. While I look forward to a cleaner, quieter 4 stroke on my next boat, that wont be for a while with the crazy boat market right now!!!

To all you folks still running older Mercury outboards. Are you using mercury recommended Quicksilver or switched to other name brands like Lucas?
My outboard is a 1997 150hp.
Thanks
For me, I use exactly what the manufacture recommends -- several reasons --
1. They do all of the product testing and engineering with the recommended fluids.
2. If there is a warranty involved, I don't want anything to jeopardize that
3. Outboard engines are EXPENSIVE -- I want to do everything I can to make them last. I believe using the recommended oil does that